ANDREAS FELGER

ANDREAS FELGER

Andreas Felger, born in 1935 in the Swabian town of Mössingen, has been active for over six decades as a painter, woodcutter, sculptor and designer. He began his professional career in 1950 with an apprenticeship as a pattern draftsman at the company Pausa AG in Mössingen.

His skills and productivity as a draftsman predestined him for art studies, which he completed at the Academy of Arts in Munich from 1954 to 1958. Parallel to his work as a freelance textile designer for the Pausa AG (1960-80), Felger worked as a freelance artist from 1970, primarily in the medium of woodcut.

His landscapes, spiritual themes as well as realizations of musical and literary works are shown by the artist in a multitude of solo and group exhibitions from 1974 on. After 1980, Andreas Felger expanded his spectrum of artistic media with watercolor painting, in which his fascination with working with color, form and structure finds diverse expression. Since 1985 until today, abstract compositions of large-scale oil painting are created.

His artistic work includes the conception and realization of book projects in collaboration with contemporary poets and writers, sculptures in public spaces, ensembles of objects, stained glass windows, furniture and pictorial works for interior design, and even the walk-in wooden reliefs in the EXPO 2000 Church Pavilion in the Volkenroda Monastery (Thuringia), designed by Meinhard von Gerkan/GMP Architekten.

In 2002, the artist establishes the Andreas Felger Cultural Foundation for the promotion of contemporary visual art. In 2008, the foundation publishes a comprehensive monograph on Andreas Felger’s painting together with the Wienand Verlag, Cologne.

In 2009 Felger moves his residence from Gnadenthal in the state of Hesse, where he lived for 40 years in an ecumenically oriented community, back to his Swabian home in Mössingen, and in 2010 moves his studio into a former chapel in Bad Sebastiansweiler, which he calls Atelier K.

In 2012, the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz show a large exhibition of oil paintings by Andreas Felger under the title Malen wie Atmen (Painting like Breathing) and the Prestel Verlag publishes the exhibition catalog of the same name.

In 2013, former Bundestag President Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert publishes the book CREDO together with Andreas Felger. It is published by Adeo Verlag and combines texts on the Credo from two millennia with the 19-part oil painting cycle CREDO by Andreas Felger.

In 2015, the artist celebrates his 80th birthday, including the exhibitions WERK.STOFF in the Tonnenhalle in the Pausa-Quartier in Mössingen and MALEREI in the St. Matthäus Church at the Berlin Kulturforum.

In 2018 Andreas Felger awards the WERK.STOFF Prize for Painting, initiated by the Andreas Felger Cultural Foundation and the Heidelberger Kunstverein, for the first time to the artist Nadira Husain.

In 2018 and 2019, Stuttgart based organist and composer Sebastian Bartmann composes 19 organ works to accompany Andreas Felger’s oil painting cycle CREDO, which had its premiere in October 2019 at the Romanesque city church of St. Martin in Sindelfingen.

2021 in May, the Andreas Felger Cultural Foundation, in cooperation with the city of Mössingen and on the occasion of Andreas Felger’s 85th birthday, opens the retrospective exhibition “LEBENSLINIEN Andreas Felger’s sketches in the context of his art” in the barrel hall of the former PAUSA AG in Mössingen.

In 2022, the Andreas Felger Cultural Foundation, together with Sebastian Bartmann and Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert (former President of the German Bundestag), initiates the image-sound-word project CREDO, which combines the oil painting cycle, the organ works and the selected texts on the Credo in one event and will be realized over several years starting in May 2021 in large church spaces, including St. Fidelis in Stuttgart, the EXPO 2000 Church Pavilion in Volkenroda Monastery, Speyer Cathedral and others.

Background image: © Friedemann Felger

Menu

ANDREAS FELGER

Andreas Felger, geboren 1935 im schwäbischen Mössingen-Belsen, ist seit über sechs Jahrzehnten als Maler, Holzschneider, Bildhauer und Gestalter aktiv. Er beginnt seine berufliche Laufbahn 1950 mit einer Lehre als Musterzeichner bei der Firma Pausa AG in Mössingen.

Sein Können und seine Produktivität als Zeichner prädestinieren ihn für ein Kunststudium, das er von 1954 bis 1958 an der Akademie in München absolviert. Parallel zu seiner jahrelangen Tätigkeit als freischaffender Textildesigner für die Pausa AG (1960–80) arbeitet Felger als freischaffender Künstler ab 1970 vor allem im Medium Holzschnitt.

Seine Landschaften, biblische Themen sowie Umsetzungen musikalischer und literarischer Werke zeigt der Künstler ab 1974 in einer Vielzahl von Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen. Nach 1980 erweitert Andreas Felger sein Spektrum künstlerischer Medien mit der Aquarellmalerei, in der seine Faszination, mit Farbe, Form und Struktur zu arbeiten, vielfältigen Ausdruck findet. Seit 1985 bis heute entstehen abstrakte Kompositionen großformatiger Ölmalerei.

Sein künstlerisches Schaffen umfasst die Konzeption und Realisation von Buchprojekten in Zusammenarbeit mit zeitgenössischen Lyrikern und Schriftstellern, von Skulpturen im öffentlichen Raum, Ensembles aus Objekten, Glasfenstern, Möbeln und Bildwerken für Raumausstattungen bis hin zu den begehbaren Holzreliefs in dem von Meinhard von Gerkan/GMP Architekten entworfenen EXPO 2000 Kirchenpavillon im Kloster Volkenroda (Thüringen).

2002 gründet der Künstler die Andreas Felger Kulturstiftung zur Förderung zeitgenössischer bildender Kunst. Die Stiftung publiziert 2008 zusammen mit dem Wienand Verlag eine umfassende Monografie zur Malerei von Andreas Felger.  

2009 verlagert Felger seinen Wohnort vom hessischen Gnadenthal, wo er 40 Jahre lang in einer ökumenisch ausgerichteten Gemeinschaft lebte, zurück in seine schwäbische Heimat nach Mössingen und zieht 2010 mit seinem Atelier in eine ehemalige Kapelle in Bad Sebastiansweiler, die er Atelier K nennt.

2012 zeigen die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz unter dem Titel Malen wie Atmen eine große Werkschau zur Ölmalerei von Andreas Felger und im Prestel Verlag erscheint der gleichnamige Ausstellungskatalog.

2013 gibt Bundestagspräsident a.D. Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert zusammen mit Andreas Felger das Buch CREDO heraus. Es erscheint im Adeo Verlag und vereint Texte zum Glaubensbekenntnis aus zwei Jahrtausenden mit dem 19-teiligen Ölbildzyklus CREDO von Andreas Felger.

2015 feiert der Künstler seinen 80sten Geburtstag, unter anderem mit den Ausstellungen WERK.STOFF in der Tonnenhalle im Pausa-Quartier in Mössingen und MALEREI in der St. Matthäus Kirche am Berliner Kulturforum.

2018 verleiht Andreras Felger den vom Heidelberger Kunstverein und der Andreas Felger Kulturstiftung initiierten WERK.STOFF Preis für Malerei zum ersten Mal an die Künstlerin Nadira Husain.

2018 und 2019 komponiert der Stuttgarter Organist und Komponist Sebastian Bartmann 19 Orgelwerke zum Ölbildzyklus CREDO von Andreas Felger, die im Oktober 2019 in der romanischen Stadtkirche St. Martin in Sindelfingen zur Uraufführung kommen.

2021 im Mai eröffnet die Andreas Felger Kulturstiftung in Kooperation mit der Stadt Mössingen und anlässlich des 85. Geburtstages von Andreas Felger die retrospektiv angelegte Ausstellung LEBENSLINIEN Andreas Felgers Skizzen im Kontext seiner Kunst in der Tonnenhalle der ehemaligen PAUSA AG in Mössingen.

2022 initiiert die Andreas Felger Kulturstiftung zusammen mit Sebastian Bartmann und Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert (Bundestagspräsdident a.D.) das Bild-Klang-Wort-Projekt CREDO, das den Ölbildzyklus, die Orgelwerke und die ausgewählten Texte zum Credo in einer Veranstaltung vereint und ab Mai 2021 über mehrere Jahre hinweg in großen Kirchenräumen, u.a. in St. Fidelis in Stuttgart, im EXPO 2000 Kirchen-Pavillon im Kloster Volkenroda, im Dom zu Speyer u.a. realisiert wird.

Hintergrundbild: © Friedemann Felger

Menü